Prof. Dr. Karsten Danzmann

Laser Interferometry and Gravitational Wave Astronomy
Location Hannover
+49 511 762-2356
+49 511 762-5861

Curriculum Vitae

Director at Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics

Professor at Leibniz Universität Hannover,

Director of the Institut für Gravitationsphysik

Head of the department Laser Interferometry and Gravitational Wave Astronomy

Personal Data

Date of Birth: February 6, 1955

Nationality: German


1980  PhD at Universität Hannover

1977  Diploma in Physics, Universität Hannover

Academic Appointments

2004-2005  Dekan, Fachbereich Physik, Universität Hannover

Since 2002   Director at Max-Planck-Institut für Gravitationsphysik (Albert-Einstein-Institut)

Since 1993  Professor (C4) Universität Hannover, Director of Institut für Atom- und Molekülphysik (now Institut für Gravitationsphysik)

1990-1993  Project Leader Gravitational Waves, Max-Planck-Institut für Quantenoptik, Garching

1986-1989  Acting Assistant Professor of Physics, Stanford University, USA

1983-1986  Staff Scientist, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt Berlin

1982-1983   Visiting Scientist (DFG stipend) Stanford University, USA

1978-1982  Scientific Assistant, Universität Hannover

Other Professional Activities

Since 2020  Deputy Speaker, Sonderforschungsbereich TerraQ: Relativistic and Quantum-based Geodesy

Since 2019  Speaker (since 2022 Member of Board), QuantumFrontiers Cluster of Excellence EXC 2123

2014-2019  Deputy Speaker Sonderforschungsbereich geoQ

Since 2013  Co-Proposer, GRACE Follow-On Space Mission

Since 2011  Consortium Lead, LISA Space Mission

2009-2014  Speaker of the HALOSTAR Graduate College

Since 2006  Speaker, International Max Planck Research School (IMPRS) on Gravitational Wave Astronomy

2006-2013  Deputy Speaker QUEST Cluster of Excellence

2004-2018  Co-Principal Investigator LISA Pathfinder Mission

2002-2014  eputy Speaker, DFG Sonderforschungsbereich (Collaborative Research Center) SFB/TR7: Gravitational Wave Astronomy

2001-2009  Deputy Speaker, European Graduate College GRK665

2001-2011  ESA Mission Scientist for LISA, LIST Co-Chair

1997-2009  Deputy Speaker of the DFG-Sonderforschungsbereich SFB 407 “Quantum measurement”

1997-2010  Member of the Programmausschuss “Extraterrestrische Grundlagenforschung des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)”

1993-1998  Member of Fundamental Physics Advisory Group, ESA (European Space Agency)

1993-2001  Speaker of the LISA Study Team

Since 1993  Principle Investigator (with J. Hough and B. Schutz) for GEO600


2020   Teaching Prizes 2019 of the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics
2019   accepted into the Hall of Fame of German Research
2018   Brunswick Research Prize from the city of Brunswick and the association “ForschungRegion Braunschweig e.V.”
2018   Edison Volta Prize of the European Physical Society (shared with Alain Brillet, Adalberto Giazotto, and Jim Hough)
2018   Stern-Gerlach Medal of the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft
2017   Otto Hahn Prize
2017   Group Achievement Award of the Royal Astronomical Society (shared with the LIGO Scientific Collaboration)
2017   Bruno Rossi Prize of the American Astronomical Society (shared with the LIGO Scientific Collaboration)
2017   Princess of Asturias Award (shared with the LIGO Scientific Collaboration)
2017  The Körber European Science Prize
2016  Fritz Behrens Foundation Science Prize
2016  Lower Saxony Science Award
2016  Lower Saxony State Award (shared with B. Allen and A. Buonanno)
2016  Special Breakthrough Prize (shared with LIGO Scientific Collaboration)
2016  Gruber Prize (shared with LIGO Scientific Collaboration)
2010  Member of the Academy of Sciences in Hamburg
2009  Fellow of the American Physical Society
2006  Member of the Academy of Sciences and Literature in Mainz
1993  Humboldt-Max-Planck-Forschungspreis

Professional societies

Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft

American Physical Society

Additional evidence of qualification

International patent application, PCT/EP 2006/062626, 24 May 2006, “Laser device”, 

Leibniz Universität Hannover, Max-Planck-Institut für Gravitationsphysik, 

inventors: R. Schnabel, O. Burmeister, A. Bunkowski, A. Thüring, R. Rinkleff, and K. Danzmann

Go to Editor View